Dangerbird News

Thursday March 19, 2015 (1 week ago)

Butch Walker Tour Dates Announced; Tickets on Sale Friday, March 20th

Butch Walker is touring from April through June playing songs from his new album Afraid of Ghosts all across this fine land we call America (…plus Toronto. We love Canada too).

Tickets go on sale Friday, March 20th at 10am local time so get them quick!

4/27 – Pittsburgh, PA at Mr. Small’s Theatre
4/28 – Philadelphia, PA at Theatre of the Living Arts
4/29 – Pawling, NY at Daryl’s House
5/01 – Northampton, MA at Pearl Street
5/02 – Burlington, VT at Higher Ground Ballroom
5/04 – Boston, MA at The Wilbur Theatre
5/05 – New York, NY at Concert Hall, NYSEC
5/07 – Washington, DC at 9:30 Club
5/08 – Charlotte, NC at The Visulite Theatre
5/10 – Durham, NC at The Carolina Theatre
5/11 – Columbia, SC at Music Farm
5/12 – Charleston, SC at Music Farm
5/15 – Atlanta, GA at Atlanta Symphony Hall
5/17 – Nashville, TN at War Memorial Auditorium
5/19 – Detroit, MI at St. Andrew’s Hall
5/20 – Cleveland, OH at House of Blues
5/22 – Minneapolis, MN at Cedar Cultural Center
5/23 – Madison, WI at Majestic Theatre
5/24 – Chicago, IL at The Vic Theatre
5/26 – Toronto, ON at Mod Club
5/27 – Columbus, OH at Park Street Saloon
5/29 – Indianapolis, IN at Deluxe at Old National Center
5/30 – Cincinnati, OH at Bogart’s
6/02 – Columbia, MO at Rose Music Hall
6/03 – St. Louis, MO at The Duck Room at Blueberry Hill
6/04 – Tulsa, OK at Cain’s Ballroom
6/06 – Austin, TX at Stubbs
6/07 – Dallas, TX at Majestic Theatre
6/10 – Boulder, CO at Fox Theatre
6/14 – San Francisco, CA at Great American Music Hall
6/16 – Los Angeles, CA at Masonic Lodge

Thursday March 12, 2015 (2 weeks ago)

Ume To Release Too Big World EP on April 7th

Austin rock band Ume today announced the release of a new EP entitled Too Big World. The six-track offering will be released on Dangerbird Records on April 7th and is currently available for pre-order now on iTunes. Those who pre-order the album will receive an instant download of the title track. The new EP features covers of Neil Young’s “Hey Hey, My My (Into the Black)” and Archers of Loaf’s “Web In Front,” as well as unreleased b-sides from the band’s recording sessions with producer Adam Kasper (QOTSA, Cat Power, Nirvana).

Too Big World EP – Track Listing
1. Hey Hey, My My (Into The Black)
2. Too Big World
3. Gleam (Acoustic)
4. Barricade
5. Web In Front
6. Common Queen

Tuesday March 3, 2015 (3 weeks ago)

A. Sinclair Featured in NPR Music's Austin 100 SXSW Preview

“Shiny Things” by Austin locals A. Sinclair is featured today in NPR Music’s Austin 100 SXSW Feature. Listen & download the entire mix of great bands down at SXSW later this month.

Monday March 2, 2015 (4 weeks ago)

Spin Premieres Holly Miranda "All I Want Is To Be Your Girl"

Head over to Spin.com to hear the exclusive premiere of “All I Want Is To Be Your Girl” from Holly Miranda‘s sophomore album Holly Miranda in stores May 19th on Dangerbird Records.

Preorder Holly Miranda on iTunes and get an immediate download of “All I Want Is To Be Your Girl” and get the rest of the album delivered to your iTunes Library on May 19th.

Preorder the album on CD & vinyl from the official Dangerbird webstore and see Holly Miranda on tour with Andrea Gibson and at SXSW in Austin, Texas this month.

$20 – Vinyl
$12 – CD
$8.99 – iTUNES
$20 – T-Shirt

Friday February 27, 2015 (1 month ago)

Dangerbird Records at SXSW 2015

Swing by the official Dangerbird Records SXSW showcase on Thursday, March 19th at Red 7 (611 E. 7th Street) in Austin, Texas.

8pm – Ume (stripped performance)
9pm – Jesse Harris with Star Rover
10pm – Holly Miranda
11pm – T. Hardy Morris
12am – Butch Walker
1am – A. Sinclair

Monday February 23, 2015 (1 month ago)

Butch Walker Guitar Center Session & Interview

Butch Walker dropped by Guitar Center in Hollywood for a chat and to perform the song “Father’s Day” from his new album Afraid of Ghosts.

Check it out and pick up Afraid of Ghosts on iTunes.

Tuesday February 17, 2015 (1 month ago)

Holly Miranda signs with Dangerbird Records // Sophomore Album Coming May 19th

Dangerbird is proud to announce the signing of Holly Miranda and the release of her upcoming sophomore album on May 19th.

“Holly is one of those true, real artists who is infectious to be around,” says Dangerbird founder Peter Walker. “Her passion is so deep it comes through in every note she sings.”

“It’s been a long time coming and I’m so beyond thrilled to be releasing my new record with Dangerbird!” says Miranda. “I love Danger and I love Birds, so I think this is going to be a perfect fit.”

See Holly Miranda on tour with Andrea Gibson in March. Follow her on Twitter and on Facebook, and read below for more information on her upcoming album.

On a trip intended to jumpstart the creative process for new material, Holly Miranda reflects, “I had a dream that I was going to rent a house in Joshua Tree and go write by myself for a month. I’d never been there before, but I woke up the next day and booked the first house I found and left a few days later. It was about getting away from the chatter of Los Angeles and reconnecting with myself and nature. I had a bit of writer’s block after the last record, I wasn’t having fun anymore and I really needed to get back the core of why I started making music 17 years ago.” she says.

Whatever it was Miranda needed from her time in desert, she seems to have found it. On her self-titled sophomore release Miranda nods at her singer-songwriter roots but also pushes herself in new directions. She co-produced the album with Florent Barbier, and tracks like “Desert Call” and “Everlasting,” show off straightforward songwriting, soulful delivery and a lighters-in-the-air orchestration that places Miranda alongside the pantheon of songwriters who can make heartache sound beautiful. After half of her life spent on stage or in a recording studio—with her former rock band The Jealous Girlfriends and more recently as a solo artist— Miranda is still experimenting and diving for deeper truths.

“This is the most honest thing I’ve ever made; it’s very raw and is a contrast to what I’ve done in the past,” she says. After writing in Joshua Tree, she headed to Brooklyn, New York in the winter of 2012 to record most of the album, enlisting the help of bandmates Timmy Mislock, Maria Eisen and David Jack Daniels, while taking turns herself on piano, drums, guitar and bass. “There’s a Motown vibe to some of the songs” she notes of the recordings. “I wanted it to feel like the band was playing the songs live. There’s also a few that are more electronic and ethereal,” like the song “Come On.” She recorded that track in Los Angeles with David Andrew Sitek, producer of her 2010 release The Magicians Private Library.

Outside of recording, Miranda’s kept plenty busy. She recently toured the globe playing guitar for Karen O in support of her solo debut Crush Songs, she toured Spain for the annual Voces Femininas festival and is currently working on a graphic novel with Portland based artist Catherine Lazar Odell.

“I can’t remember a time I wasn’t singing. When I was little my older sisters used to make me lay on the floorboard of the car if I was going to sing, because my voice was so loud they said it felt like it was ‘inside of their heads.’ I’ll never stop making music. It’s the best therapy I’ve found.”

Listening to her new record, one certainly hopes she never stops.



Add to Google


Upcoming Releases

Holly Miranda

Holly Miranda

Coming May 19, 2015

Latest Releases

Jesse Harris

No Wrong No Right

Released Feb 10, 2015

Butch Walker

Afraid of Ghosts

Released Feb 3, 2015

Butch Walker

Chrissie Hynde 7"

Released Jan 6, 2015

Mailing List

Sign up and be the first to know about new releases, free music, tours, and special offers.
* Never spam, easy to unsubscribe.