Silversun Pickups


  • Released: July 26, 2005
  • Formats: CD / Digital / LP

Silversun Pickups coalesced in the east-side Los Angeles enclave of Silverlake. The area’s thriving music community has spawned many a critical darling, including Earlimart and Autolux. Local camaraderie developed further when a handful of these bands formed a loose collective known as The Ship. They play together, live together and appear on each other’s albums, as demonstrated by the six-song Pikul: “All the Go In Betweens” was recorded by Earlimart’s Aaron Espinoza.

Said the Los Angeles Times of Silversun Pickups’ sonic signature: “The band’s sound is distinctive – over Nikki Monninger’s loping, occasionally acrobatic bass lines, [frontman Brian] Aubert sings in a faintly tortured voice, and his penchant for painterly guitar textures is played out in dreamy layers or neck-snapping cascades of riffage Neil Young would love.”

The band’s continual gigging has earned them a devoted following and established them as a must-see local live act. Silversun Pickups have begun broadening their reach beyond their home base, however, with their most recent performance transpiring in Toronto at the NXNE Festival.

TracklistingDGB003 + DGB008

  • 1.
  • Kissing Families
  • 2.
  • Comeback Kid
  • 3.
  • Booksmart Devil
  • 4.
  • The Fuzz
  • 5.
  • Creation Lake
  • 6.
  • All The Go Inbetweens
  • 7.
  • Sci-Fi Lullaby
  • All the Go Inbetweens – recorded by Aaron Espinoza at The Ship in 2002
  • The Fuzz recored by Brian Thornell at The Ship in 2003
  • All songs written by Silversun Pickups, except Creation Lake by The Movies (2002)
  • Mixed by Rod Cervera
  • Mastered by Mark Chalecki at Capitol Mastering.

More releases from Silversun Pickups

Dangerbird Now

Listen to and follow the latest Dangerbird releases on your preferred music service

Powered By:
Dangerbird Records

Our website uses cookies and similar technologies to make the site work and improve your user experience. By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies.