Audition Tapes
T. Hardy Morris

Audition Tapes

  • Released: July 30, 2013
  • Formats: CD / Digital / LP

Recorded at Playground Sound studios with Cosmic Thug production team Justin Collins and Adam Landry, the sessions behind Audition Tapes came to be with the help of a variety of Morris’ talented circle of friends who “dropped by” to lend a hand, including Delta Spirit’s Matt Vasquez, Black Lips/Diamond Rugs guitarist Ian Saint Pe, drummer Julian Dorio (The Whigs), steel guitarist Matt “Pistol” Stossel, and keyboardist Thayer Serrano. Both Serrano and Stossel will join Morris on the road for upcoming tour dates as the trio duplicate their efforts in the studio live.

Audition Tapes finds Morris abundantly inspired, oftentimes invoking the grand spirits of Mark Linkous, Elliot Smith, Alex Chilton or fellow Georgian Vic Chesnutt. On songs such as “Quit Diggin”, “Hard Stuff” and especially the gorgeous title track, listeners are treated to intimate, fragile performances, so informal that we are invited to hear creaks and count-offs, finger taps on guitar strings and other warm and extraneous studio noise.


  • 1.
  • Lucky
  • 2.
  • Disaster Proof
  • 3.
  • OK Corral
  • 4.
  • Audition Tapes
  • 5.
  • Hardstuff
  • 6.
  • Quit Diggin'
  • 7.
  • Share The Needle
  • 8.
  • History's Hoax
  • 9.
  • Beauty Rest
  • 10.
  • Own Worst Enemy
  • Recorded at Playground Sound in Nashville, TN
  • Engineered & Produced by Adam Landry & Justin Collins
  • Back cover photo by W. Dawson Morris II Design by Sara Franklin

More releases from T. Hardy Morris

Dangerbird Now

Listen to and follow the latest Dangerbird releases on your preferred music service

Powered By:
Dangerbird Records

Our website uses cookies and similar technologies to make the site work and improve your user experience. By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies.