Boots Electric Signs with Dangerbird; Debut LP coming Fall 2011

Wednesday April 27, 2011 - 52 months ago

Get ready for an Eagle to fly alone, as Dangerbird Records announces the long-awaited upcoming full-length solo debut of Eagles of Death Metal frontman Jesse Hughes. Hughes, recording for the first time under the moniker Boots Electric, is currently holed up in Dangerbird’s own Los Angeles studios with Tony Hoffer, the in-demand producer of artists including The Kooks, Beck, Depeche Mode, Supergrass and Air, just to name a few.

Hughes is planning to release the as-yet-untitled Boots Electric album in fall 2011. In addition to Hughes’ solo compositions, Boots Electric will also feature material co-written with legendary keyboardist, bandleader and Beastie Boys sideman Money Mark.

“The decision to work with Dangerbird beyond mere management was a relatively easy one. A decision that made itself,” said Hughes. “Reaching beyond the basics we’ve become personal friends and I’ve never been so supportive in my exploration of music as an art – whatever that is – and supported in a way that should be, but never is.  Not to mention the team of actual people, not robots.”

“I’ve been lucky enough to manage Eagles of Death Metal for the past few years,” said Dangerbird CEO and Co-Founder Jeff Castelaz. “In that time, I’ve witnessed the raw power and beauty that is embodied in Mr Jesse Hughes. Seeing him coax the Boots Electric genie out of the bottle has been incredible. I can’t wait for this album to be unleashed on the world.”

Hughes and longtime friend Josh Homme (Queens of the Stone Age) formed Eagles of Death Metal in 1998 in Palm Desert, CA. Their debut album Peace, Love, Death Metal arrived in March 2004, followed by the 2006 release of Death by Sexy. That year, the group toured in support of The Strokes and Peaches, as well as headlining their own U.S. tour. The band’s third album, titled Heart On, was released in 2008 and was accompanied by 20 months of headline and festival touring around the world.



Add to Google


Upcoming Releases


Magnetic Bodies/Maps of Bones

Coming Oct 16, 2015

Latest Releases



Released Oct 2, 2015

The Dears

Times Infinity Volume One

Released Sep 25, 2015

Moke Hill

Time Stops Moving

Released Aug 7, 2015

Mailing List

Sign up and be the first to know about new releases, free music, tours, and special offers.
* Never spam, easy to unsubscribe.